Jok Moo – The Recipe

Jok Moo
Jok Moo

During my second week living in Hua Hin I found a Thai meal that is suitable to eat for breakfast. Adjusting to eating “dinner food” for breakfast still stands as a major challenge while I adapt to Thai life. Now that I live in Thailand I know that a “Western” breakfast is an unnecessary luxury, and somewhat of a cop-out when I ought to be pushing myself to try new things. Therefore eating Thai food from street stalls continues to help me adapt.

One of many street food stalls selling Jok Moo
The street food stall I buy Joke Moo from

On that fateful morning, the morning I won because I found a Thai breakfast I could eat, I bypassed a meal of green curry with beef blood jello cubes and walked to a neighboring street stall located infront of two 7/11’s. I looked through the glass of the stall when without warning a mother daughter duo spoke in Thai and prepared food for me before I even got the chance to Wai and say “Sawadee ka”. The rest is now breakfast history found in a plastic bag for 25 baht.

IMG_0670
The daughter that prepares Jok Moo

Jok Moo 

Jok moo is a nutrient rich meal that Thai people eat all day. While eating Jok Moo for dinner at the Night Market I met a Thai waiter named Blackie who deemed it one of Thailand’s “Comfort Foods.” If there was such as thing as comfort in a foreign world to a new expat Jok Moo has become just that.

Here is how you can enjoy Jok Moo at home:

The Recipe

Ingredients  

  • 1/2 cup long grain rice
  • 2 1/2 cups plain water or broth
  • oil
  • ground pork balls (any other kind of meat as well as seafood can be added in)
  • eggs
  • fish sauce or soy sauce
  • salt
  • pepper
  • ginger
  • lemon grass
  • sprouts
  • green onion
  • cilantro
  • garlic
  • pickled chillies aka chili water (cut chillies and season with desired spices/ herbs, place in jar with water and let it set)

*Every ingredient except for the main portion of rice porridge can be added or subtracted depending on the taste buds of the diner. I’ve seen many children eat only the rice porridge without anything added, whereas some street food stalls offer “Gai” – chicken. There are many variations of Jok that depend on the diner and what you’d like to eat.

Additional Ingredients for Joke Moo
Additional Ingredients for Jok Moo

 

Directions 

1. In a bowl or plastic bag marinate your choice of meat/seafood with herbs, seasonings, and sauces (oyster sauce, garlic, salt, and pepper seem to be what is most often used).

2. Finely chop up ginger, lemon grass, green onion, cilantro, garlic and any other herb you’d like to add later on to your jok.

3. Bring rice and water to a boil. Turn heat down to a simmer and stir often as water reduces and rice cooks. Add additional water if rice becomes too thick. The rice should break down with the water to create a creamy porridge like consistency.

4. When rice breaks down begin cooking what you marinated in a pan (like ground pork balls or slices of beef) with oil.

5. Once rice has turned into a soup/ porridge consistency it is ready to be poured into a bowl, and topped with your choices of meat, seasonings, spices, and even a boiled egg.

Serve and Enjoy!

 

About the Author

Aryn and a local Thai boy
Aryn and a local Thai boy

Hello, my name is Aryn and I will be the September – October intern for XploreAisa. I enjoy reading and traveling around Hua Hin as well as trying out all the street food and meeting Thai people. Continue reading future posts for recipes, teacher bios, and events happening at XploreAsia.

Leave a Reply

